FIDS Leaders at Texas A&M University


Dr. Bani K. Mallick is a Distinguished Professor and Susan M. Arseven `75 Chair in Data Science and Computational Statistics in the Department of Statistics at Texas A&M University in College Station. He is also the Director of the Center for Statistical Bioinformatics. Dr. Mallick is well known for his contribution to the theory and practice of Bayesian Semiparametric methods and Uncertainty Quantification. He is an elected fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science, American Statistical Association, Institute of Mathematical Statistics, International Statistical Institute and the Royal Statistical Society. Mallick’s areas of research include semiparametric classification and regression, hierarchical spatial modeling, inverse problem, uncertainty quantification and Bioinformatics.


Computer Science and Engineering

Dr. Dilma Menezes Da Silva is a Brazilian-American systems software researcher known for her work in cloud computing. She holds the Ford Motor Company Design Professorship II at Texas A&M University, and is head of the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at Texas A&M.


Dr. Ronald Alvin DeVore is an American mathematician and academic. He is the Walter E. Koss Professor and a Distinguished Professor of Mathematics at Texas A&M University. DeVore is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences and a fellow of the American Mathematical Society.

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Dr. Nicholas Duffield is a Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Texas A&M University, TEES Research Professor, and Director of the Texas A&M Institute of Data Science. His research combines the foundations and applications of data science and computer networking, currently graph stream sampling, network measurement and resilience, and applications of data science to transportation and hydrology.

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Dr. Panganamala Kumar is a University Distinguished Professor, Regents Professor, and holds the College of Engineering Chair in Computer Engineering. Kumar is a member of the National Academy of Engineering of the USA, the World Academy of Sciences, and the Indian National Academy of Engineering. He was awarded an honorary doctorate by the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (Eidgenossische Technische Hochschule) in Zurich. He received the IEEE Field Award for Control Systems, the Donald Eckman Award of American Automatic Control Council, the Fred Ellersick Prize of IEEE Communications Society, the Outstanding Contribution Award of ACM SIGMOBILE, the Infocom Achievement Award, and a SIGMOBILE Test-of-Time Paper Award. He is an ACM Fellow and a Fellow of IEEE.